Skip navigation

Although it is now spring, it is still bone-chilling cold down here.

For you see, I am trying to get some much needed sleep but it is difficult, if not somewhat impossible. The basement floor is damp, hard and unforgiving. My sides, neck and back ache.

Sleep will not come. All that I can do is curl up into a fetal position and think. But I don’t want to think anymore! I only want to fall asleep so that I can momentarily be released from all of my pain and misery.

Sleep is far away.

And so, my mind plays out what will happen in only a matter of time. I will hear the clank of chains being released and then that horrible sound of the doorknob being turned. This will be followed by heavy footfalls on the half decayed basement steps.

Coming closer…

Looking up, my tormentor will be glaring down at me. It will now be time to leave these gloomy surroundings and go upstairs. A small room, furnished with only a computer and desk will await me. In this prison cell, lit only by candlelight, it will be up to me to promote a fiend who causes me nothing but fear.

Closing my eyes, they instinctively pop back open.

To my horror, sleep will not come.

Mr. X

Leave a comment